Short Notice

Subcommission on Tectonic Nomenclature

Dr P.L. Hancock of the University of Bristol has been appointed Chairman of the IUGS Subcommission on Tectonic Nomenclature. The subcommission is one of two within the Commission on Tectonics (COMTEC), whose chairman is Professor J. Dercourt. A principal objective of the subcommission is to prepare a book in English and Russian outlining key concepts and nomenclature that have arisen during the last 20 years in structural geology and tectonics. Dr Hancock would be pleased to hear form anyone who has views on the usage of structural or tectonic terms. Any material used in the book will be acknowledged. Please write to him at:

Department of Geology, University of Bristol, Wills Memorial Building, Queen's Road, Bristol BS8 1RJ, U.K.